You are here

FA announce Non-League Pyramid Revamp – how promotions & relegations from Steps 1 to 7 will work!

In yesterday’s Non League Paper, the FA have announced the non-league pyramid is set for a revamp from 2020-21.

2018/19 saw a new Step 3 and Step 4 division, and now we are going into the second phase of the National League Systems restructure designed to create a pure Pyramid.

From 2019/20 there will be an 8th Step 4 division meaning many extra promotions in April/May 2020.

Promotion & Relegation 2019-20

Step 1

2 promoted – 1 automatic, 1 via play-offs

4 relegated.

Step 2

2 promoted from each division – 1 automatic, 1 via play-offs

2 relegated from each division

Step 3

2 promoted from each division – 1 automatic

2 relegated from each division, along with 2 third bottom clubs on PPG

Bottom two sides from each division will be relegated to Step 4. Another two “third bottom” clubs will be relegated on a PPG basis. If there are any reprieves available then one of the relegated PPG sides will get that reprieve. The bottom club of each division will not be eligible for a reprieve.

Step 4

Promotion is back to normal at Step 4 this season. The champion and playoff winner from each division will go up.

At Step 4, the bottom side will go into a playoff with against a Step 5 side. The match will be hosted by the Step 4 side and the winner will play at Step 4 the following season with the loser playing at Step 5.

Step 5

At Step 5, due to the expansion of Step 4 in 2020/2021, more sides than usual will promoted. Every champion league will go up. In the North West Counties, Northern League and Northern Counties East, the top 3 sides will be promoted. In the other 11 divisions, the four runners up with the best PPG will be promoted. The other seven runners up will playoff against the seven bottom sides at Step 4 to see who will play at Step 4 the following season.

The bottom side from each of the fourteen divisions will be ranked on a PPG basis. The two sides with the best PPG will be reprieved.

Step 6

The top four teams from each division will be promoted, with the exception of the SWP division which will promote two sides from each division.

At Step 6, the bottom two sides are liable to relegatation to Step 7. If any reprieves are available then the side with the best PPG will be reprieved.

Step 7

There are 46 divisions at Step 7. There is the ability to promote more than one club from each division if geographically necessary. Sides wishing to be promoted to Step 6 need to apply by 31st December and pass certain criteria.

Taken from the Non-League Paper, this is a simulated look at how Steps 5 and 6 would look in comparison to now:

Step 5
Step 5

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: